You Don’t Have to Understand Everything About Your Life Right Now

Clarity only comes with time and experience

Allison Burney
5 min readDec 27, 2019

“Someday, everything will make perfect sense. So for now, laugh at the confusion, smile through the tears, be strong and keep reminding yourself that everything happens for a reason.” — John Mayer

I still remember my sister sending me that quote, along with her own message of comfort and support.

I was 21, heartbroken, and confused.

I’d just graduated from university in the spring, and my first “serious” (long-term) relationship ended that fall. With no real plans for what to do with my life and no one to be with, I felt more lost and alone than ever.

Even though I was excited to be done school and start my “real life,” I was also scared. I had no idea what that really meant, and it felt daunting.

And do you want to know a little secret?

I’m still learning.

It’s now almost a decade later

I recently hit a milestone that many people tend to think of as a big deal in life: I turned 30.

Did I feel any older? Not really. Did I think of myself as any wiser? I’m afraid not.

--

--

Allison Burney

Writer, ghostwriter & proofreader. On a mission to keep exploring, learning & enjoying this adventure we call life. Work with me: allisonburney.com