You Can’t Rely on Motivation to Sustain Even the Best Intentions

Instead, you’ll need something stronger

Allison Burney
5 min readMay 9, 2024
Photo by Alexas_Fotos on Unsplash

Can we talk for a minute about how ridiculously fleeting motivation can be?

After being all wound up and excited yesterday that I was finally, FINALLY going to do something for myself, something that I have been wanting to do for years, this morning it was a completely different story.

I woke up groggy, in the middle of a strange dream, and the LAST thing I wanted to do today was sit down and write.

I thought to myself, Dude, it’s only day two. You’ve got a long way to go. As in—the rest of your life, hopefully.

I contemplated this while washing my face.

It appears I’m going to need something stronger than a little burst of excitement here and there.

Some days are just better than others

Some days you feel excited, motivated, well-rested, alert, and ready to take on the day.

Others, you feel like you’re still asleep, even while your fingers are typing words.

Getting up this morning was no walk in the park.

This would have been the perfect morning to use my usual excuse, that I could really use…

--

--

Allison Burney

Writer, ghostwriter & proofreader. On a mission to keep exploring, learning & enjoying this adventure we call life. Work with me: allisonburney.com