Snap Decisions Aren’t Always Bad. This One Proved to Be Amazing.

Sometimes they lead to life’s most memorable experiences

Allison Burney
5 min readDec 9, 2021
Photo by John-Mark Smith on Unsplash

“There is no end to the adventures that we can have if only we seek them with our eyes wide open.” — Jawaharlal Nehru

My phone buzzed on the desk beside me.

It was a text from friends of mine who were currently in Costa Rica. The meditation retreat they were running was to start the following day.

The photo that appeared on my screen next placed them at a restaurant somewhere, my friend’s hand wrapped around a bottle of Corona. Below the picture, the message read, “There’s still time to join us! We can make space for you!”

I took it in and smiled. She looked so happy.

I thought about it for a moment, and then texted back some funny joke about me not being there to finish her beers for her, so she better be careful!

“Can’t swing it this year,” I said. “Next year!”

Then I went back to my work.

The question that set it all in motion

A couple of hours later, my partner and I were walking to a nearby convenience store to drop off a UPS box. I told him about the text and the comment about there…

--

--

Allison Burney

Writer, ghostwriter & proofreader. On a mission to keep exploring, learning & enjoying this adventure we call life. Work with me: allisonburney.com