My Life Fell Apart This Year. Here’s How I’m Going to Start Rebuilding.

I’m committing to something I can control—something that’s all mine

Allison Burney
5 min readMay 8, 2024
Photo by Danica Tanjutco on Unsplash

It’s 5:04 a.m. on a random Tuesday in May.

I’ve just sat down at my laptop and opened a blank page.

It’s now or never.

I’m battling yawns that are growing ever more powerful by the minute.

Do I necessarily want to be up at this time? No.

But life has proven to me over and over again that if I leave my writing until later in the day, it almost never happens. At all. The day has this uncanny ability to slip away from me without me even noticing.

POOF! There goes another one.

So, I’m going to try something different

I’m going to roll out of bed an hour earlier than I’m used to.

I’m going to dedicate myself to sharing my words on the internet first thing in the morning, before work and before the world outside has really woken up.

It’s still dark as I look out my window. There’s no sign of life out there yet. No cars, no birds chirping, no people walking their dogs or wandering from place to place. Nothing to distract me from the task at…

--

--

Allison Burney

Writer, ghostwriter & proofreader. On a mission to keep exploring, learning & enjoying this adventure we call life. Work with me: allisonburney.com