If Morning Routines Don’t Work for You, Try Changing Your Approach

Stop trying to set something up that will work forever, and just focus on right now

Allison Burney
3 min readOct 12, 2023
Photo by Jexo on Unsplash

I’ve really been resonating with Eve Arnold’s journey lately.

I love that she’s been open and honest about her own struggles around morning routines and trying to fit in too much.

I’ve had a similar experience, and the truth is that it’s lasted years.

Ever since I first became interested in personal development and started reading books and consuming content about morning routines, my search for the “perfect” routine began.

The problem is, I could never find something that I could actually stick to for more than a few days. I was either trying to wake up way too early after not getting enough sleep, trying to do way too much, or focusing on all the wrong things.

It became more of a to-do list that I just wanted to check off than an actual useful part of my day.

After years of “trying” to establish a morning routine and experimenting with all sorts of different components, I still had no real structure to my life and hadn’t committed to anything.

--

--

Allison Burney

Writer, ghostwriter & proofreader. On a mission to keep exploring, learning & enjoying this adventure we call life. Work with me: allisonburney.com