How To Change The World (And Others)

Allison Burney
5 min readNov 14, 2019

“Be the change you wish to see in the world.” — Mahatma Gandhi

Photo by Ross Findon on Unsplash

It took me a long time to finally understand the meaning behind Gandhi’s famous words.

It may not be everyone’s meaning, but it’s mine.

Since the first time I read them, those words stuck with me. I wanted to follow that advice, but I simply didn’t know what it meant.

Like most people, I just wanted the world to be a happier and healthier place.

The change I wanted to see in the world was peace. I wanted everyone to be kind to each other, to treat each other with respect and dignity. I wanted people to care for one another, and to be empathetic and compassionate towards one another.

I didn’t want people to suffer anymore. I didn’t want things like wars, sickness, poverty, violence, or corruption to plague our planet anymore.

As a kid, though, making just one of these changes seemed way too big, let alone all of them! I had not one clue about where to start. It all seemed so huge and impossible and overwhelming.

How could I change the whole world!?

I was just a little kid in a big world. What impact was I going to make?

Start With You

--

--

Allison Burney

Writer, ghostwriter & proofreader. On a mission to keep exploring, learning & enjoying this adventure we call life. Work with me: allisonburney.com